Regenerative sleep with help from the elements

March 23, 2013

IMG_0572

Taken in the hall of minerals at the American Museum of Natural History in DC.

It has been many moons since my last post. With each moon, I have grown. As the quarters pass I fill with joy, humility, and introspection. I have come to appreciate the significance of the new moon, which offers time to envision futures, and revisit past goals.  The dark sky of the moonless night begs for peaceful sleep. Too often we envision sleeping, eating, and bathing as chores, rather than the magic of life, which keeps our bodies vital.  Most people walk around deprived of sleep, leaving them sleep walking through life, lacking the rest that is integral to bodily health, mental productivity, and emotional connectedness. In our fast-paced world it is easy to miss the profound workings of the subconscious, which nestle in our dreams. Our ancestors teach us that dreams offer insight that can help heal our world.  We have some wondering to do before we can begin to trust the intuition of dreaming again. What is the deeper meaning of insomnia? Why are dreams hard to remember? What can we discover through dream journaling? What is the social significance of lucid dreaming?

IMG_0584

IMG_0583IMG_0582

My drive is to connect more with my core being and how I can offer peace to the world; some of this lies in my slumber. Sacred rituals and talismans of sleep have homes in many cultures, and more so now, in mine. I made this dream pillow by hand and filled it with herbs that rock one to sleep: mugwort, St. John’s wort, lavender, osha root, kava kava, passion flower, motherwort, wormwood, and valerian. The pouch is for crystals which lead us to the dream world: fluorite, quartz, amethyst, and herkimer diamond. I sense that the more I connect with the plants and stones in the pillow, the more my dreams and sleep will open to me.

I’d love to hear about other ways of encouraging regenerative sleep, especially through connection with the Earth.

One Response to “Regenerative sleep with help from the elements”

  1. alex said

    This is a wonderful and meaningful post, Signe. Your genuine curiosity and willingness to explore the unknown while working to make yourself a better person is encouraging. I’ve never found it hard to sleep, I wonder why? I drink tea often before bed as a way to calm myself. But, I find myself to be truly tired and ready for bed–the moment I hit the pillow I’m asleep. It is rare that I wake in the middle of the night, mostly because I am hot or thirsty, but maybe there is another reason? I’ve recently begun journaling right before bed. That too brings some conclusion to my day. While I haven’t experimented with rocks or crystals near my bed, I do keep three rocks on my desk at work to remind of ways I hope to better myself. My own well-being and my respect for you are two motivations behind these new routines. Thanks for always opening my eyes to new things sister.

    AP

Leave a Reply

