Adjusting My 2 Piece Caps

August 25, 2010

Back in March I started to think about my goals for the summer. I’m a goal oriented person and like to think ahead-it is a good way to fill my free time with productive activities. I didn’t know it then, but my ideas for productive activities were really just urban homesteading ventures. I decided to dry all my laundry on the line and to “put up” foods.  Thankfully, hanging up clothing requires little skill and just days after the goal of canning popped into my head I came across the Ball Blue Book of Preserving.

The cook book and resource gives step by step instructions of how to can–including pictures, explanations for canning techniques, the low down on canning equipment, a glossary of food preservation terms, and hundreds of recipes. The Blue Book is by no means trendy like my roommates “Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It”, and even seems a little corporate. However, for $5 it has a way to preserve any fruit or vegetable that you have too much of and it is printed on recycled paper. If you have any unexpected results, flip to the back for a list of common problems in home canning.  Pick up a copy today to not miss out on all that can still be “put up” for colder times- apple sauce, tomatoes, corn relish, hot pepper jelly, and more! My roommate and I just canned 150 ounces of pickle relish, soon to be paired with homemade ketchup and offered as Christmas gifts. Without the old pressure of feeding a family only from the growing season, canning can be fun and creative as well as a step in the direction of sustainable living.

Find a copy at ACE Hardware in Porter Square.

One Response to “Adjusting My 2 Piece Caps”

  1. I grew up in a home where we canned, froze and preserved. I do olives now but really that’s it and I think about it a lot. Hope you’ll share some of your trials as you go down this route. I’ve been thinking about the clothes line too!

Leave a Reply

